The Evite alternatives couples weigh for a wedding are Greenvelope, InviteDrop, The Digital Envelope, Wedvite, Bliss & Bone, Joy and Paperless Post, and the right one depends on which part of Evite you want to change: the ads on its free designs, a reply that counts heads instead of names, or editing that stops on the event date. Each of the seven is checked here against those three points, using the company's own pages as they read on September 22, 2026. The Digital Envelope is our company, and it sits in the list with the others.
Listed on Evite's Premium vs. Free page as a Premium feature, beside the option to remove gift guides.
support.evite.com, Premium vs. Free, read Sep 22, 2026Evite's Diamond package, the Premium band that covers 100 guests; it runs to 750.
support.evite.com, Premium Pricing, read Sep 22, 2026Evite's Edit Invitation page says event details and design text can be edited any time before it.
support.evite.com, Edit Invitation, read Sep 22, 2026What Evite offers for a wedding, as its own site describes it
Evite's free designs cost nothing to send, and its support site says free invitations support up to 750 guests. Premium is bought per event by guest band: Silver $17.99 for up to 12 guests, Gold $36.99 for up to 30, Platinum $68.99 for up to 75, and Diamond $99.99 for up to 750. Packages are for single-event use. Evite Pro is an annual subscription at $249.99 covering unlimited invitations with up to 2,500 guests each. The Premium vs. Free page lists what the paid tier adds: exclusive designs, animated effects and reveals, envelopes, stamps and stickers, a host photo gallery, no ads, and the option to remove gift guides.
Why couples look beyond Evite for a wedding
- Ads on the free designs. Evite's Premium vs. Free page lists "No ads" and "Option to remove gift guides" as Premium features, so a free invitation is shown with them. For a birthday that is a fair trade. For a wedding, many couples would rather the guest saw only the invitation, which leads them to Premium or to another service.
- The reply is a headcount. With Evite's Family headcount setting, guests enter adult and child counts separately. The caterer and the seating chart, though, need a name for each seat and a meal for each name.
- Editing is described only until the event. Evite's Edit Invitation page says event details and design text can be changed any time before the event date, and does not say how long the invitation stays online after it. Couples who want the page live afterward, for thank-you notes or a photo link, look for a service that states a longer life.
- A catalog for every kind of event. Evite's home page lists wedding invitations as one category among many, and "is it tacky to send an evite for a wedding" appears in Google's own search suggestions, which we checked on September 22, 2026. We take up that question in are digital wedding invitations tacky.
Where Evite fits well: a list of several hundred, since Diamond at $99.99 covers up to 750 guests and the price holds as the list grows, or several events in one year on Evite Pro.
Ads, replies and editing, service by service
| Service | Ads, per its own page | How the reply is collected | Editing and time online | 100 guests |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Evite (baseline) | on free designs; Premium lists "No ads" | Family headcount: adult and child counts | details and design text editable any time before the event date | $0 free; $99.99 Diamond |
| Greenvelope | an ad-free experience for every guest | RSVP tracking with survey questions for meals and allergies | not stated on the pricing page | $99 per mailing |
| InviteDrop | no ads and no watermarks on every tier | RSVP tracking with custom questions | not stated on the pricing page | $44.99 Event Pass Pro |
| The Digital Envelope (our service) | none; Classic carries our small mark once at the end | each person in the household by name, with a meal and allergies | editable after publishing with no time limit; online for a year after the wedding | $99 Classic, $199 Signature |
| Wedvite | not stated on the page we read | built-in RSVP dashboard | hosting through the wedding date and at least 90 days after | $89, unlimited guests |
| Bliss & Bone | not stated on the page we read | RSVP with dietary notes | details can be updated and resent at no extra charge | $0.90 x 100 = $90 |
| Joy | not stated on the page we read | on the wedding website, with questions such as meal preferences and allergies | not stated on the page we read | $0; premium card price not stated |
| Paperless Post | not stated on the pricing page | not described on the pricing page | not stated on the pricing page | $50 to $144 at paid per-guest rates |
"Not stated" means the page listed under sources did not say. Zola is left out because its own FAQ says it does not offer digital invitations, and Minted because we could not read its price on its site.

Greenvelope: the mailing model, stated as ad-free
Greenvelope's pricing page says the price includes an ad-free experience for every guest, and lists survey questions for meals and allergies, automatic reminders and text-message delivery. It bills once per mailing by guest band, $99 for up to 100, and a free trial sends to up to 10 people. What a save the date plus an invitation costs there, and on every service here, is worked out on our Greenvelope alternatives page.
InviteDrop: no ads on any tier, by its own statement
InviteDrop's page states no ads and no watermarks on every tier, along with animated envelopes, RSVP tracking with custom questions, and email and text delivery. The Event Pass is sold by invitation count, $44.99 for up to 100 or $74.99 unlimited, and each event includes 5 free invitations.
The Digital Envelope: a reply for every name
We make 31 digital wedding invitations in six collections, each an animated scene where the music begins as the guest breaks the seal. Replies come one per household, and each person in it is entered by name with their own meal choice and allergy boxes, so the kitchen tab and the seating chart in the dashboard work from names rather than a count.
Classic is $99 for up to 100 guests replying and Signature $199 with no limit; neither shows ads. Words, times and details stay editable after publishing, the link does not change, and the invitation stays online through the wedding day and for a year after. There is no free tier, but a draft with your names costs nothing and needs no card.
Wedvite: a hosting window written on the page
Wedvite's page states hosting through the wedding date and at least 90 days after, with a built-in RSVP dashboard, a share link and QR code generation, for $89 once with unlimited guests. The first 10 guests are free without an account or card, and music, a wax seal, an extra language and a venue sketch are sold as add-ons.
Bliss & Bone: changes after sending, at no charge
Bliss & Bone lists updating details and resending at no extra charge, an RSVP with dietary notes, and free follow-up reminders, shared by email, text or WhatsApp. It bills per recipient at sending, $0.90 each at 10 or more, so 100 guests come to $90; the page says most couples spend $40 to $120 in total.
Joy: the reply lives on the wedding website
Joy's page says its digital designs, wedding website, registry and online RSVP are free, and that the RSVP can ask anything from meal preferences and allergies to accommodation needs, across several wedding events. The card links to the website, where guests answer. The page did not say whether guests see ads, and premium cards had no price stated.
Paperless Post: stationery designs, priced per guest
Paperless Post shows four per-guest tiers from $0.00 to $1.44, sends the first 50 invitations on free designs through its site at no cost, and adds envelopes, backdrops, premium page styles and a photo gallery on Premium designs. Its pricing page does not cover ads or how replies are collected, so couples starting from Paperless Post will find more in Paperless Post alternatives.

Which one for the reason you are leaving
| What you want to change | Look at | What their page says |
|---|---|---|
| No ads beside the invitation | Greenvelope or InviteDrop | both state no ads; $99 per mailing, or $44.99 per event |
| Stay on Evite, lose the ads | Evite Diamond | "No ads" is a Premium feature; $99.99 for up to 750 guests |
| Each guest's name and meal, not a count | Our Classic or Signature | each person replies by name with a meal and allergies, counted for the kitchen and the seating chart |
| The page stays up after the wedding | Wedvite | hosting through the date and at least 90 days after; $89 with unlimited guests |
| Changes after the invitation has gone out | Bliss & Bone | update and resend at no extra charge |
| Free, with meals asked on a website | Joy | free RSVP on the wedding website, meal and allergy questions included |
| Stationery look, short list | Paperless Post | first 50 invitations on free designs at no cost |
Refunds, editing and photos for us and Evite are compared one to one at The Digital Envelope vs Evite.
No ads on any package, and every guest answers by name with a meal and allergies. Classic is $99 for up to 100 guests replying; Signature is $199 with no limit.
Browse the designsHow we put this together. On September 22, 2026 we read five Evite support pages (Premium Pricing, Premium vs. Free, Edit Invitation, Adults vs. Children RSVP, Guest List Limit) and its home page, then the pricing page of each alternative, and noted what each says about ads, replies and editing, with the price for 100 guests. Anything a page left out is marked "not stated". Our own details come from our price list and our product.
- Evite, Premium Pricing, read September 22, 2026
- Evite, Premium vs. Free, read September 22, 2026
- Evite, Edit Invitation, read September 22, 2026
- Evite, Adults vs. Children RSVP (iOS App), read September 22, 2026
- Evite, Guest List Limit, read September 22, 2026
- Evite, Home page, read September 22, 2026
- Greenvelope, How Much Does Greenvelope Cost?, read September 22, 2026
- Paperless Post, Pricing, read September 22, 2026
- Joy, Wedding Invitations, read September 22, 2026
- InviteDrop, Pricing, read September 22, 2026
- Bliss & Bone, Online Wedding Invitations, read September 22, 2026
- Wedvite, Pricing, read September 22, 2026
- The Digital Envelope, Prices, September 22, 2026
Questions people ask
- Is there a free alternative to Evite for wedding invitations?
- Yes. Joy's digital designs, wedding website and RSVP are free, InviteDrop includes 5 free invitations per event, Wedvite lets the first 10 guests in before paying, Greenvelope's trial sends to 10 people, and Paperless Post sends the first 50 invitations on free designs at no cost. Evite's own free designs are free to send and carry ads.
- Does Evite show ads on wedding invitations?
- On free designs, yes: its Premium vs. Free page lists "No ads" and "Option to remove gift guides" as Premium features. For a wedding above 75 guests, the Premium band is Diamond at $99.99, read September 22, 2026.
- What is cheaper than Evite Premium for 100 guests?
- Evite Diamond, the band covering 100 guests, is $99.99. InviteDrop's Event Pass Pro is $44.99, Wedvite is $89 with unlimited guests, Bliss & Bone comes to $90 and Greenvelope to $99, all read from the companies' sites on September 22, 2026.
- Can guests RSVP by name on an Evite alternative?
- On our invitations, yes: each person in a household is entered by name with their own meal and allergies, and the dashboard counts meals and seats from those names. Evite's Family headcount setting has guests enter adult and child counts as numbers, per its support site.
- Can I edit an Evite after the wedding date?
- Evite's Edit Invitation page says event details and design text can be edited any time before the event date, and it does not describe editing after it. Among the alternatives, Wedvite states hosting through the date and at least 90 days after, and ours stays online through the wedding day and for a year after it.
- Is Greenvelope better than Evite for a wedding?
- Greenvelope's pricing page states an ad-free experience for every guest and prices one mailing at $99 for up to 100 guests, with meal and allergy questions in the RSVP. Evite's ad-free option at that size is Diamond, $99.99 for up to 750. If ads concern you more than list size, Greenvelope's statement answers it; if the list is several hundred, Diamond does.
- Is it tacky to send an Evite for a wedding?
- The format is not the issue; couples send digital wedding invitations from many services. What can read as casual is ads beside the invitation and a reply that is only a headcount. Greenvelope and InviteDrop state that guests see no ads, and Evite's own Premium tier removes them.
- Which Evite alternatives have an animated envelope?
- Greenvelope, InviteDrop and Wedvite each state an animated envelope opening on their pricing pages. Evite lists animated effects and reveals, and envelopes, among its Premium features.